Bitsum Community Forum

General Category => Process Lasso => Topic started by: LownSlow on August 09, 2026, 02:26:23 PM

Title: Creating an inverse / reset Config Profile
Post by: LownSlow on August 09, 2026, 02:26:23 PM
Summary: I'd like to create a profile that resets all of the actively running processes to their defaults without needing to manually enter the processes in the rules list.

Detail:

My understanding is that changing config profiles in Process Lasso (PL) does not necessary "undo" what the previously selected profile configured, which is why a reboot is often recommended (please correct me if I'm wrong...I'm fairly new to PL).

I'd like to create an "inverse" profile that would include the same processes as my tweaked profile, but set those processes all back to their default values (basically like they were never touched by PL).  Unless I'm missing something, this could help avoid a reboot or manually ending and restarting processes that might be affected by the tweaked profile.

Right now the only way I can think of doing that is:

1) Copy the profile I'd like to invert/revert, and choose "use current settings as this profile"
2) Use "Edit Rules" on the new profile and "blank out" each option in the rules table.

But this involves a LOT of double-clicking fields and selecting [blank] in the dropdown list.  Also, if I ever add a rule to the original profile, I have to do the entire rules table all over again.

Is there another way to do this?

If not, I have a suggestion: add an option to the "Reset Configuration" dialog box that offers to "maintain the list of rules but set them to default".  This would create inverse profiles instantaneously--both on initial creation and any time you've added a process to the ruleset for the profile you're wanting to revert.

One other thought.  When I've done this the manual way, I notice that the "Rules" column specifies "0-19" in it for each blanked out rule in the ruleset.  This makes the table messy.  It would be great if the Rules column for these processes looked like when there's no rule at all (just empty, unless PL or Windows has other defaults, like dwm.exe, System, explorer.exe, etc.)

Thanks for any help or feedback with this!

Title: Re: Creating an inverse / reset Config Profile
Post by: Jeremy Collake on August 10, 2026, 11:51:33 AM
As you've discovered, there isn't currently a way to easily achieve an automatic undo of rules applied by a config profile.

We maybe can add something along those lines. I've ticketed it and will get back to you.

We'll also consider blanking the value on a rule when it's "all cores", but that would make it less apparent when such rules are set.
Title: Re: Creating an inverse / reset Config Profile
Post by: LownSlow on August 11, 2026, 07:36:34 PM
That sounds great.  Thanks so much!
Title: Re: Creating an inverse / reset Config Profile
Post by: LownSlow on August 11, 2026, 09:14:55 PM
Quote from: Jeremy Collake on August 10, 2026, 11:51:33 AMWe'll also consider blanking the value on a rule when it's "all cores", but that would make it less apparent when such rules are set.

Wanted to mention that the program currently treats this inconsistently.  If you set to "all cores" in the Edit Rules window, it will list the rule as "0-[last core number]" in the Rules column of All Processes and Active Process tabs.  However, if you right-click the process in the one of processes tabs and choose "None"--which is essentially the same action--the Rules column will be blank for affinity (which is essentially what I'm requesting).

Incidentally, I also noticed that if you only have one rule configured, and then set that rule back to default (like None for Affinity), the processes will either be completely deleted from the Edit Rules view, or the process will be still listed, but with all the columns blank.  For instance, CPU Affinity, CPU Sets, GPU Pref, Boost, and Efficiency set to default will cause the process to be deleted in Rules view.  All the remaining options will leave the Process in the window.

I'm assuming the intended behavior is to delete the process from the rules view entirely, as this is what happens when you choose the "Remove All Rules" from the right-click menu.