Out of Control

Started by tcano65, June 21, 2010, 02:43:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tcano65

Im new to Process Lasso. I am not very computer savvy. I got Process Lasso because my computer was freezing and wanted to know what was causing it. I found my ESET antivirus is going out of control and taking up up to 90% of my CPU when my comp freezes, but i dunno how to fix this. Can someone help me? I have v3.84.6. Thanks in advance.

Jeremy Collake

Sadly, the best way to fix this is to uninstall ESet and use another anti-virus program instead. Either that, or try disabling its real-time scanning. Doing the latter could expose you to additional threats, so I can not recommend that approach.

Process Lasso may help to reduce interference from E-set *some*, but not much. Anti-virus software is hard to deal with because the whole system must wait for it to scan a file that is being opened (as an example).

Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

doflyjets

Quote from: jeremy.collake on June 21, 2010, 07:51:33 PM
Sadly, the best way to fix this is to uninstall ESet and use another anti-virus program instead. Either that, or try disabling its real-time scanning. Doing the latter could expose you to additional threats, so I can not recommend that approach.

Process Lasso may help to reduce interference from E-set *some*, but not much. Anti-virus software is hard to deal with because the whole system must wait for it to scan a file that is being opened (as an example).

I too have noticed from today, my first time, using Process Lasso multiple instances of ekrn.exe process being lowered and stating it has quit effecting peformance. Eset probably is the least demanding security software. I do say also that ESET internet security may effect performance even more cause it also has a firewall solution software integrated into it. I use Eset antivirus/anti spyware. Avira free is next lightest but has a false positive issue.