Analysis on *why* a program is chugging resources

Started by Coldblackice, April 21, 2015, 09:22:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Coldblackice

It would be awesome to get some analysis on *why* a program is chugging resources. The two general ways I know about that come to mind:

• In ProcessExplorer, you can view a program's "Threads". You can see which threads are currently eating the most CPU. You can even look at a thread's stack trace to further troubleshoot this (although I'm not an expert at doing this -- I've been wanting the ability to decipher these better)

• In ProcessMonitor, you can see what a program is actually doing behind the scenes -- writing to disk, accessing registry, communicating over network, etc.

• "Analyze wait chains" -- in Resource Monitor, you can click this to check what a program is waiting/hanging on.

I know this is extending the scope, but it's something that no other tool I've seen does (at least in a "friendly" manner) -- giving some clue as to what's causing a particular resource spike by a program, even if it's just the name of the thread or .DLL that's chugging. This would go a long way in helping people to eliminate the sources of troublesome programs and resource usage.

BenYeeHua

You means like Nvidia, which provided a simple status that report which one is bottleneck?

For example, Nvidia report GPU usage, memory, temperature etc as the bottleneck.
I think "IF" Process Lasso can analysis it, it can just report like this, so the user know which hardware it should update.(Of cause the bottleneck are still time, resource and optimize to get this function.) ;)

Coldblackice

Quote from: BenYeeHua on April 22, 2015, 10:17:12 AM
You means like Nvidia, which provided a simple status that report which one is bottleneck?

For example, Nvidia report GPU usage, memory, temperature etc as the bottleneck.