Author Topic: CPU Time sorting  (Read 1408 times)

Offline ColColonCleaner

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 2
CPU Time sorting
« on: May 30, 2018, 05:41:56 PM »
Hello All. Very simple bug report here. When sorting the 'CPU Time' column it gets sorted alphanumerically instead of the actual total time. As shown in the screenshot.

An ascending sort could be displayed as follows:
0:30
1:30
15:30
2:30
25:30
3:30

https://i.gyazo.com/d9c215f0474a90c89d1503f5c1ca240b.png

Cheers.



Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Gender: Male
Re: CPU Time sorting
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2018, 08:15:02 PM »
Thanks for the report, could you give some more system data.
OS, CPU/model, your access level (admin, guest etc).

I am not seeing this issue but any extra info may help reproduce it here.
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline ColColonCleaner

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: CPU Time sorting
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2018, 02:56:45 PM »
I have admin access on my machine. OS is windows 7 64 bit.

You will only start seeing this issue when process lasso has been open for more than a day or so. Processes which have more than 9 CPU hours, such that the first character in their hour count becomes 1 again, will be sorted in the same section as processes with only 1 hour of processor time. It's simply sorting the column alphanumerically instead of by raw duration.

Cheers.

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Gender: Male
Re: CPU Time sorting
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2018, 05:12:56 PM »
I have admin access on my machine. OS is windows 7 64 bit.

You will only start seeing this issue when process lasso has been open for more than a day or so. Processes which have more than 9 CPU hours, such that the first character in their hour count becomes 1 again, will be sorted in the same section as processes with only 1 hour of processor time. It's simply sorting the column alphanumerically instead of by raw duration.

Cheers.
Ok, thanks for the added info, we will look into it.
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5243
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: CPU Time sorting
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2018, 03:17:55 PM »
This appears to occur when the hour count (most-significant digit) is greater than 9, causing a sorting as text error because there are no leading zeros. I am fixing it up. Thanks for the report!
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5243
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: CPU Time sorting
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2018, 03:48:18 PM »
Fixed with proper time compare on this column in 9.0.0.461 beta.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.