Author Topic: Firmware modification help  (Read 12572 times)

Offline dj__silver

  • Basic
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Firmware modification help
« on: January 14, 2013, 03:00:18 PM »
Does anyone can help me modify firmware to meet my needs ?
I'm a newbie in this stuff and I can't carry this alone because it requires too much knowledge and effort for me.
I know what I want to do but I don't know how to :(



Offline hanemach_gt

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 03:06:13 PM »
Have you tried asking on stackoverflow? Your problem is related to programming to some extent, maybe you will find someone's help there.
<img src="http://imageshack.com/a/img913/7827/On37F9.gif"/>

Offline dj__silver

  • Basic
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 03:48:01 PM »
Thanks for suggestion. I have asked the question:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14326251/device-firmware-modification
and had such a nice reply ! >:(

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5243
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 08:15:16 AM »
LOL, sorry about that. I can't control people. They are wrong that it isn't related to programming, and were probably concerned about its legality.

Also, people want to see you doing the work yourself I guess, then asking specific questions as needed. You can't go from 0 to 100 with a step-by-step, lots of learning in between.

If you said, I know this, did this, tried this, was blocked at this ...

Enter a ticket at the FMK Google Code site if you didn't and maybe we'll get to it someday, may have advised this already.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2013, 03:29:30 PM by Jeremy Collake »
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 01:00:12 PM »
Ya, programming is meaning that, writing any code. :)
But I think the most fastest and safer way is learn yourself. ;)

Offline dj__silver

  • Basic
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2013, 02:33:03 PM »
Maybe I'll try to fallow Your suggestion and do it myself or just start it by myself even if it will take me long time.
However it would be very nice if anyone help me. I try to fallow with this idea: find the sources of every binary which is in firmware(except thease made only by manufacturer), then cross-compile them for MIPS32(the CPU architecture of this device) and after that write necessary executables and libs through deep analysis of some sources including Web UI(User Interface). At the beginning here are the incomplete information I got and I'd like some more info from anybody:

1) The device is dual CPU device, 1st is RT3052 and 2nd is RT2880. Which one is Little Endian and which one is Big Endian ?
   I need to know this to properly configure uClibc(something like glibc but for embended systems) before compile it.

2) Where to find documet like this one: http://www.kosanco.com/Documents/Chipsets/RT2880.pdf but for RT3052

I won't ask any questions at stackoverflow.com yet because I'm afraid that they would answer again it's out of topic. When I'll got some sources created by my own then I'll start asking questions there so that's why I'm asking here now

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2013, 03:03:58 PM »
I can't help you as I am not a person that know about coding, sorry about that...

Offline nikkil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2013, 11:02:30 AM »
This looks like a custom job. may you could hire a coder that knows this code and develop this for you.
You're never a loser until you quit trying.

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2013, 11:22:18 AM »
This looks like a custom job. may you could hire a coder that knows this code and develop this for you.
Ya, many problem can be solved by coder, like you need calculate/record everyday, you can coding it with Excel to easier it. ;)

Offline dj__silver

  • Basic
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2013, 05:20:08 AM »
    I could hire a coder probably and that would be a nice idea, but I'm sure that the fact of how much money he/she would like for such a job wouldn't be nice. I guess such cost would be approximately of this device cost, so I decided to fallow by my own.
    After a little analysis of file names contained in firmware I found that there is "rt2860v2_ap.ko" radio chip module and found in google that this module makes Access Point on the rt2860 interface. What I want is that I want it to be also able to function as a Wireless Client, so I've downloaded and cross-compiled rt2860v2_sta module. I was able to add utelnetd and utftp services to router and they work, but that's another story. I uploaded new module using router's telnet and utftp services. Driver loads and is used so I thought taht from this point up a few simple commands, mainly "iwconfig", "ifconfig", and "route" will do the job but something goes wrong.
    Don't tell me that You don't even know how to use these commands. It seems that I don't know all necessary command parameters and can't connect to AP. AP doesn't notice any clients connected to it. Please see this log for more details http://rapidshare.com/files/2115304790/log0.txt and reply.

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2013, 01:05:37 PM »
    I could hire a coder probably and that would be a nice idea, but I'm sure that the fact of how much money he/she would like for such a job wouldn't be nice. I guess such cost would be approximately of this device cost, so I decided to fallow by my own.
    After a little analysis of file names contained in firmware I found that there is "rt2860v2_ap.ko" radio chip module and found in google that this module makes Access Point on the rt2860 interface. What I want is that I want it to be also able to function as a Wireless Client, so I've downloaded and cross-compiled rt2860v2_sta module. I was able to add utelnetd and utftp services to router and they work, but that's another story. I uploaded new module using router's telnet and utftp services. Driver loads and is used so I thought taht from this point up a few simple commands, mainly "iwconfig", "ifconfig", and "route" will do the job but something goes wrong.
    Don't tell me that You don't even know how to use these commands. It seems that I don't know all necessary command parameters and can't connect to AP. AP doesn't notice any clients connected to it. Please see this log for more details http://rapidshare.com/files/2115304790/log0.txt and reply.
Download permission denied by uploader. (0b67c2f5)
lol ;D

Offline dj__silver

  • Basic
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2013, 02:16:54 PM »
Here comes the log if You can't download it:

BusyBox v1.7.5 (2011-12-15 10:21:13 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# ifconfig ra0
ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:D1:AA:6C:18
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4

#
# iwconfig ra0
ra0       RT2860 SoftAP  ESSID:"Daro 2.4 Ghz"  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Channel=4  Access Point: 00:14:D1:AA:6C:18
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s

#
# lsmod | grep rt2860
rt2860v2_ap           682224  1
#
# ifconfig ra0 down
#
# lsmod | grep rt2860
rt2860v2_ap           682224  0
#
# rmmod rt2860v2_ap
#
# lsmod | grep rt2860
#
# insmod rt2860v2_sta.ko
#
# iwconfig ra0
ra0       Ralink STA

#
# ifconfig ra0
ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4

#
# ifconfig ra0 up
#
# iwconfig ra0
ra0       Ralink STA  ESSID:""  Nickname:"RT2860STA"
          Mode:Auto  Frequency=2.447 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
          Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=10/100  Signal level:0 dBm  Noise level:-85 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

#
# iwconfig ra0 essid test
#
# iwconfig ra0
ra0       Ralink STA  ESSID:""  Nickname:"RT2860STA"
          Mode:Auto  Frequency=2.447 GHz  Access Point: 00:02:72:6A:4F:BD
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=10/100  Signal level:-78 dBm  Noise level:-85 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

#
# ifconfig ra0
ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:205 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:218 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:11601 (11.3 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4

#
# ifconfig ra0 hw ether 00:0D:88:EA:93:16
ifconfig: SIOCSIFHWADDR: Device or resource busy
#
# ifconfig ra0
ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:909 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:346 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:51410 (50.2 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4

#
# ifconfig ra0 down
#
# ifconfig ra0 hw ether 00:0D:88:EA:93:16
#
# ifconfig ra0 up
#
# ifconfig ra0
ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1589 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:762 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:89960 (87.8 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4

#
#

well, what do You think about it ??

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firmware modification help
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2013, 05:26:06 PM »
This
Signal level:-78 dBm  Noise level:-85 dBm
The noise is too high, try changing your WiFi channel.