ProcessLasso and Agnitums Acs.exe Process

Started by kuraigu, October 11, 2014, 05:22:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kuraigu

helllo guys!

i've been using process lasso for 6 years now i think. have been satisfied since.
i've also been using agnitum's outpost firewall pro since years but the latest version
is a big pain in the *ss !!!! their acs.exe process, which is the firewall is causing lags
the more net activity is going on.  >:(
if i close google chrome after some usage for exsample, the firewall stalls my system
for a few seconds, up to some minutes sometimes.

i've wrote the support of agnitum that the process is causing lags/issues but no
answer since.

is there any way to actually turn down the lags somehow? i've tried some options but no
luck :(

thanks in advance!

BenYeeHua

Hmm....
I think you better choose another Firewall then? It sound like a bad optimize Firewall...

For stalling, it can be caused by the Firewall driver, which is not under Process Lasso's control....

Jeremy Collake

This is most likely impossible to fix externally.

Firewalls and other security software in that they block I/O until they are done with their scanning. Once they give the 'all clear', then the I/O can continue.

So, that's probably why you see lags. Something in the firewall is simply not performing optimally.

I hate to say it, but I have no solution here. The author of the firewall really must address the problem.

There may be settings of the firewall that allow you to tune it down in aggressiveness. These *might* make a difference in the overall performance of the firewall.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

arcanum

Hi,

I've been using Outpost firewall too. No matter what i do, excludin processes vice versa still causes Outpost logs fullfilled every second that "outpost blocked process to manipulate" or something like that.
Got tired of that and installed another vendor security suite, which has very good firewall too and when exludin processes works.