Author Topic: New to Process Lasso  (Read 124 times)

Offline DrunkMonk74

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
New to Process Lasso
« on: January 15, 2020, 10:01:11 AM »
Hi new user here,

I play mostly CoD:MW (even at my age) and was getting pretty desperate with the performance of the game on my PC, (which a few years ago could have been classed as high end, but now mostly definitely, is just a mid tier machine). I don't play competitively, so I'm after visual eye candy in my games. With all settings in CoD:MW set to high, I was suffering significant frame spikes and fps drops. I have Intelligent Standby List Cleaner installed, and even with this running performance was poor.

I was initially disappointed with the purchase of Process Lasso, as it didn't seem to make any significant difference in performance or experience. So I came to the forums to hunt for tips and hints.

The biggest thing I took away was not to mess with the defaults. So, I undid all the "tweaks" I'd made, like excluding the process from Pro Balance, CPU Balancer, messing with CPU and I/O priorities, etc and hey presto, things are running so much smoother. I still get spikes, but these are alot less frequent and I suspect are more related to work the developers need to do, to address game optimisation.

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for the  quality products, (also bought Park Control) and for the help on the forums.

I would like to make one feature request for the future. Could Process Lasso have the ability to change timer resolution (like ISLC)? I can then remove ISLC from my machine. Process Lasso already has Smart Trim to clear memory, but that ability to adjust the timer resolution I still need ISLC for.

Thanks again for the great work.


i7-5960X; X99-Deluxe; 64Gb DDR4; Samsung 850 Pro; Titan X SC; PG279Q; Corsair AX1200i; LogitechG13; LogitechG900; Windows 10 x64

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5277
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: New to Process Lasso
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2020, 10:15:15 AM »
Thanks for your patronage!

It sounds like you have discovered the right approach. Less is often more when it comes to tweaking. You should just let Process Lasso's ProBalance do it's thing, and use Performance Mode and other automation features as necessary.

I don't have any other specific tweaks to suggest. Anything that could be boiled down to simple suggestions has already been done automatically by Process Lasso. Some users find various ancilliary adjustments useful, but these depend on your software and hardware environment and user behavior.

I would caution to not clear the standby list too often. That is your file-system cache. Apparently clearing it can make a positive difference in some cases, but definitely it shouldn't be over-done.

The timer resolution adjustment is already on the Todo list. I expect to add it in the near future.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Online edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1718
  • Gender: Male
Re: New to Process Lasso
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2020, 10:49:27 AM »
Hi new user here,

I play mostly CoD:MW (even at my age) and was getting pretty desperate with the performance of the game on my PC, (which a few years ago could have been classed as high end, but now mostly definitely, is just a mid tier machine). I don't play competitively, so I'm after visual eye candy in my games. With all settings in CoD:MW set to high, I was suffering significant frame spikes and fps drops. I have Intelligent Standby List Cleaner installed, and even with this running performance was poor.

I was initially disappointed with the purchase of Process Lasso, as it didn't seem to make any significant difference in performance or experience. So I came to the forums to hunt for tips and hints.

The biggest thing I took away was not to mess with the defaults. So, I undid all the "tweaks" I'd made, like excluding the process from Pro Balance, CPU Balancer, messing with CPU and I/O priorities, etc and hey presto, things are running so much smoother. I still get spikes, but these are alot less frequent and I suspect are more related to work the developers need to do, to address game optimisation.

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for the  quality products, (also bought Park Control) and for the help on the forums.

I would like to make one feature request for the future. Could Process Lasso have the ability to change timer resolution (like ISLC)? I can then remove ISLC from my machine. Process Lasso already has Smart Trim to clear memory, but that ability to adjust the timer resolution I still need ISLC for.

Thanks again for the great work.
I was going to say, try in-game FPS cap but looking at your specs 8/16 threads that shouldn't be an issue but "might" help smooth things out, frame time wise.
If COD doesn't support in game FPS limiter you could try Nvidia new FPS limiter in NVCP if your running NV card or MSI AB fps limiter.
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline DrunkMonk74

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
Re: New to Process Lasso
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2020, 10:51:26 AM »

The timer resolution adjustment is already on the Todo list. I expect to add it in the near future.

Many thanks. Look forward to the update
i7-5960X; X99-Deluxe; 64Gb DDR4; Samsung 850 Pro; Titan X SC; PG279Q; Corsair AX1200i; LogitechG13; LogitechG900; Windows 10 x64

Offline DrunkMonk74

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
Re: New to Process Lasso
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2020, 10:54:05 AM »
If COD doesn't support in game FPS limiter you could try Nvidia new FPS limiter in NVCP if your running NV card or MSI AB fps limiter.

CoD does have an in game fps limiter, but for me, it seems to make matters worse.

nVidia's new FPS limiter is much better and provides smoother results. I'm going to try it again now I've undone all the messing I did with Process Lasso. Thanks for the reminder.
i7-5960X; X99-Deluxe; 64Gb DDR4; Samsung 850 Pro; Titan X SC; PG279Q; Corsair AX1200i; LogitechG13; LogitechG900; Windows 10 x64