Author Topic: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own  (Read 6575 times)

Offline Matt

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
"Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« on: December 16, 2014, 11:26:03 PM »
Hello kind folks...

I have Process Lasso Free v7.2, 64 bit, portable.

My OS is Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit.

It seems my Process Lasso is consistently altering my setting of "Memory Priority" for programs from "Always/Normal" to (again--on its own) "Always/None."

This problem began I'd say only a few months ago at most.

Does anyone have any experience with or knowledge of this particular matter, by any chance?

Thanks...   :)

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1789
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2014, 08:12:42 AM »
If I understand you right . that is normal as normal is default .
If you never set it other than normal the current will be "normal" and always none .
If you set for example memory priority 3 , then current would be "medium" and always would be medium .
but many, most processes are normal , so if you had set it to other than normal and then back to normal, it will go to none as that is the default .

Hope that makes sense .
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2014, 02:37:06 PM »
Hmm, I'm not sure on this, but it's on my agenda to investigate. Seems strange. Thanks for the report.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline bertie97

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2014, 04:31:55 PM »
I was gonna post a msg on 'current' vs 'always'  but this may be related to this threads subject.

Basically I was encoding some video, set the encoder to high
priority class->current->high
left the PC alone; came back later & I find
priority class->current->below normal

I tested this a couple of times & found it would always revert unless I used the 'always' options.
I have assumed that this may be due to the idlesaver PM over-riding my 'current' option as this kicks in when I'm AFK for 10 secs.
I started wonder how persistent 'current' is.  I had assumed it was session related & that this would be lost on reset/reboot.

Unintended result or my failure to understand when current ceases to be current?
Great Free File Manager
http://multicommander.com

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2014, 05:40:53 PM »
IdleSaver PM won't affect process priority classes.

If it had been Lasso's ProBalance that made the change back to Below Normal, some default settings would have to changed, as it doesn't mess with any high priority processes by default. Also, it's action would have been logged.

I wonder if the application in question here is changing it's own priority class. Unless you have other non-default rules or Lasso config, this is most probable.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline bertie97

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2014, 05:20:45 AM »
Thanks for fast response JC
I don't think the app changed it's priority internally, & there isn't an obvious priority setting like some encoders have.  I will have to test it & see if it is obviously using an auto priority changer somehow.  It was the only thing running other than AV so it didn't need to mess...
Only looking at PL window revealed the changing of state, I was checking my don't sleep PC status at the time.
Test run & log review req'd I think.

Good to know idlesaver doesn't have any 'extra' impact, tho I guess I know you (& your code) well enough to trust that you wouldn't make a newb error like that, so a slap-upside-the-head for me  :-[  ;)

So how persistent is current?  Session (for that progs execution)?
Great Free File Manager
http://multicommander.com

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1789
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2014, 07:30:41 AM »
I think he mean, it will stick till next reboot/restart of OS .
That is how it always worked for me, just like if you changed it in task manager .
Of course there no "always" option there, it current state only .
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2014, 12:45:28 PM »
Current means it makes a one time change. It doesn't enforce that change. So, that's why this change by some external actor (or the app itself) is allowed to occur.

Even if the app doesn't directly adjust it's memory priority, components of the OS (like SuperFetch) or the Multimedia Scheduler may do so.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline bertie97

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2014, 02:49:08 PM »
OK thanks, I had tried to find the specifics in the help, unsuccessfully.
Great Free File Manager
http://multicommander.com

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2014, 02:53:09 PM »
The help sucks. I've been slowly making dents in it in this week, but have a long way to go.

I now understand your confusion. You expected 'Current' to keep it that way until a reboot. Normally it would stay that way, but not if something else changed the memory priority (and it must have).
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2014, 05:23:11 PM »
Hmm...
So, except using Forced Mode, this will not be workaround, right?

Offline bertie97

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2014, 04:48:24 PM »
Trying to keep help up to date with PLs developments cannot be easy.
The obvious down-side of so many features in such a complex little package is writing a manual that is 2x/3x the size of the prog  :D

Great Free File Manager
http://multicommander.com

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2014, 06:28:03 PM »
I actually wrote a 50 page book documenting all of Lasso. I just used pen and paper. It's on a yellow notepad. Sketches for screenshots.

May scan it soon. No OCR. It'll be the most unique docs you've ever seen ;).
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2014, 06:29:10 PM »
Hmm...
So, except using Forced Mode, this will not be workaround, right?

Right, forced mode only applies to 'Always' (persistent) settings. So that is not useful here UNLESS the user wants to force that process to ALWAYS stay at that memory priority. Then he can use the Always setting, plus turn on Forced Mode at the bottom of the Options menu.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1789
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2014, 07:01:17 PM »
i am not following , always already forces it to be the setting you set it .

I don't even see forced mode, where is this ?
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2014, 07:28:43 PM »
Forced Mode is near bottom of Options menu. It causes persistent settings to be reapplied, even if they had been adjusted by some external actor.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1789
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2014, 07:52:39 PM »
in what menu, I am looking but can't find it (I am right clicking on process options ) ?

Edit; I found it, its not in process specific  option , it is in main menu option .
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2014, 08:42:46 PM »
Yup, I also take awhile to find it, as it is not a good function to enable, I think. :)

Offline bertie97

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #18 on: December 23, 2014, 05:19:28 AM »
I think I may experiment with forced mode on that encoder, see what happens.  For something that is generally Fire-&-Forget PL sure has a lot of things to play with.  :)

I look forward to seeing some descriptive work on PL, 'artistic' or otherwise  ;)
Great Free File Manager
http://multicommander.com

Offline Hotrod

  • Member++
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • Gender: Male
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2014, 01:28:02 PM »
I use forced mode without complication, but then I don't have alot of self adjusting processes. I think one thing to watch for is processes which will change themselves back to low priorities frequently and then be forced back to your settings. This would create a huge list of log instances and could actually become a problem. In this case you would be forced to allow that particular process to manage itself.

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5411
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: "Memory Priority" Changes On Its Own
« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2015, 05:30:44 PM »
There is a bug in the default memory priorities that may have an impact here.

I will release a new beta with the fix when I get to it, then a new final when it's verified.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.